Google Photos (iPhone):

How to share your photos using the Google Photos iPhone app

 A screenshot of the Google Photos app in the iTunes store.

A screenshot of the Google Photos app in the iTunes store.

Google Photos is a photo sharing and storage service from Google. It offers both free and paid options to back up all of your iPhone photos.

Once saved, you can easily share your Google Photos with family, friends, and your album designer.

Here's how to use Google Photos to share your iPhone photos with the Shortcake Albums design team.


step 1

Download the Google Photos app from the iTunes store.

step 2

Sign in with your Google account (or create a new one). 

Step 3

Follow the prompts to begin syncing and backing up your camera roll. 

Note: You will be asked to choose between the free service or paid service. The options depend on the photo quality you want to save, and how much storage you would like.  (See more details on the Google Photos website here.)

step 4

After all your photos have finished syncing, it's time to share your photos with your album designer. You have two options: share all your photos, or choose which photos you want to share.

to share all your photos

To share all your Google Photos, add our email address as a Partner Account. Here's how:

Note: Google restricts Partner Account connections to one per email address, so we've set up several email addresses that we use to connect with our clients' accounts. But, we can only accept one Partner Account connection to each of our email addresses at a time. Please email us at hello@shortcakeinc.com to ask for an open email address you can add as your partner account before you proceed. 

Once you've received an open email address from us:

  1. On your iPhone or iPad, open the Google Photos app . 
  2. Sign in with your Google Account.
  3. Tap the Menu icon (looks like 3 horizontal lines) > Add partner account > Get started.
  4. Enter the email address we sent you into the email address field.
  5. Select which photos to add to your partner account.
    • All photos: You can share all photos.
    • Photos of specific people: You can select one or more face groups to share. Photos that match any of the selected face groups will be shared. 
    • Only show photos since this day: Any photos whose dates come after the selected date will be shared. 
  6. Tap Next.
  7. If everything looks right, tap Send invitation.
  8. Verify your identity and finish set up.

 

To Choose Which Photos to Share

  1. On your iPhone or iPad, open the Google Photos app .
  2. Select a photo, several photos, or an album you've already created.
  3. Tap Share icon (looks like a box with an arrow coming out of the top).
  4. Share with hello@shortcakeinc.com.

Repeat the steps above as many times as you need to, in order to share all your photo files. 

When you're done, please send us an email at hello@shortcakeinc.com to let us know that you have finished sending all your photos via Google Photos. That way we will know to look for your shared links or new partner account, and we can let you know if there were any problems.